Make Money

Trade Now!

Sunday, November 4, 2007

2011 FIFA Women's World Cup

The FIFA Women's World Cup 2011 will be the sixth instance of the FIFA Women's World Cup, the quadrennial international women's football world championship tournament. It will be held either in the summer or the autumn of 2011 in Germany, which won the right to host the event in October 2007.

Germany, two-time defending World Champions, will be automatically qualified as the host nation. Other teams will start qualification in their regional confederations in 2010.

Tournament schedule
FIFA had discussed the possibility of bringing the tournament forward one year, from 2011 to 2010, to coincide with the men's FIFA World Cup. Representatives of women's football protested the idea on the grounds that the men's event will compete with and overshadow the other. In December 2004, FIFA voted to retain the current FIFA Women's World Cup cycle
Number of participants

Currently, FIFA is considering the prospect of increasing the number of teams from 16 to 24, to reflect the growing global popularity of women's soccer and the Women's World Cup, as well as the dramatic increase in parity and competitiveness

Six nations (Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Peru, and Switzerland) met the first deadline in the bidding process on 1 March 2007 by officially declaring their interest in hosting the 2011 Women's World Cup.[4] The next step was submitting a "Form of Bidding Agreement" by 3 May 2007. Definitive bids were submitted on 1 August 2007.

Switzerland withdrew by the end of May 2007,[vague] France by the end of August 2007,[vague] Australia on 12 October 2007, and Peru on October 17 2007. The only two bids that remained were from Canada and Germany.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Adgitize your web site.

My Other Network

Add to Google
Subscribe rajeshSEOmetrie Report StumbleUpon My StumbleUpon Page Subscribe with Bloglines Blogging Blog Directory

Friend Connector

get it!

Get Chitika eMiniMalls